Homeschool at Oak Knoll ages 7-8

Schedule:

18 classes (show schedule)
Wed, Sep 21, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Sep 28, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Oct 12, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Oct 26, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Nov 09, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Nov 16, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Dec 14, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Jan 04, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Jan 18, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Feb 01, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Feb 15, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Mar 01, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Mar 15, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Mar 29, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Apr 12, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Apr 26, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, May 10, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, May 24, 2023
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Location:

Oak Knoll Wildlife Sanctuary, Attleboro

Audience:

Children
7 - 8 years

Members:

$360.00

Nonmembers:

$430.00
Nonmembers can join today during checkout and take immediate advantage of member prices.

Join Oak Knoll naturalists for a fun filled 9-month series for the homeschool community. Each class is 2.5 hours in length and meets in small groups, with other students of similar age, all while learning science outside in nature at the Wildlife Sanctuary. Younger groups, ages 4.5-6 & 7-8, get age appropriate monthly themes to explore like; 'What is a Habitat?', 'How do Animals Move?', and “What is Weather?”. Older groups, ages 9-12, also explore monthly themes but partake in additional conservation projects like collecting data for bud bursts in trees and raising “headstart” turtle hatchlings.

Pre-registration is required for the entire series at a first come first served basis, space is limited. Classes happen mostly outdoors, have indoor access to bathrooms, will adhere to current social distance regulations and mask wearing of all staff and participants based on local requirements. This program is designed to keep students safe with small “pods” sizes of students. Please be prepared for all types of weather and hiking conditions, programs run rain or shine.

Please note that Health History, Emergency, and Release forms are required for all participants to attend, once you register successfully you will receive a link to the forms.

Themes:

September: Welcome to the Sanctuary
Theme 1: What is a wildlife sanctuary?
Theme 2: What is a scientist?

October: What is a habitat?
• Theme 1: Dendrology
• Theme 2: Soil

November: What is an adaptation?
• Theme 1: Ornithology 101 - Bird Walk
• Theme 2: Hibernation/Migration

December: Why do animals move?
• Theme 1: Animal tracks and signs

January: What is Earth Science?
• Theme 1: The Rock Cycle
• Theme 2: Paleontology

February: What are nature's cycles?
• Theme 1: Water Cycle
• Theme 2: Carbon Cycle

March: What is a pond?
• Theme 1: Wetland Metaphors
• Theme 2: Pond critter exploration
• Theme 3: Pollution Solutions

April: What is a Life Cycle?
• Theme 1: Complete vs Incomplete Metamorphosis
• Theme 2: Flower to Seed

May: What is the scientific method?
• Theme 1: Physics in Nature (Egg Drop)
• Theme 2: Chemistry in Nature (Fizzy Science)

Instructions and Directions:

Please note this is a Drop Off program. The Nature Center will not be available for families to wait with siblings.

Registration is required.

Meeting Place:

Oak Knoll Wildlife Sanctuary
1417 Park St
Attleboro, MA 02703
Email [email protected] for more information.