Homeschool at Oak Knoll

Sponsored by Oak Knoll

Schedule:

18 classes (show schedule)
Wed, Sep 15, 2021
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Sep 29, 2021
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Oct 13, 2021
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Oct 27, 2021
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Nov 10, 2021
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Dec 01, 2021
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Dec 15, 2021
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Jan 05, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Jan 19, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Feb 02, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Feb 16, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Mar 02, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Mar 16, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Mar 30, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Apr 13, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, Apr 27, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, May 11, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Wed, May 25, 2022
1:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Location:

Oak Knoll Wildlife Sanctuary, Attleboro MA

Audience:

Children
7 - 8 years

Members:

$360.00

Nonmembers:

$430.00
Nonmembers can join today during checkout and take immediate advantage of member prices.

Join Oak Knoll naturalists for a fun filled 9-month series for the homeschool community. Each class is 2.5 hours in length and meets in small groups, with other students of similar age, all while learning science outside in nature at the Wildlife Sanctuary. Younger groups, ages 4.5-6 & 7-8, get age appropriate monthly themes to explore like; 'What is a Habitat?', 'How do Animals Move?', and “What is Weather?”. Older groups, ages 9-12 & 13-17, also explore monthly themes but also partake in actual conservation projects like monitoring bud bursts in trees and monitoring salamander populations.

Pre-registration is required for the entire series at a first come first served basis, space is limited. Classes happen mostly outdoors, have indoor access to bathrooms, will adhere to current social distance regulations and mask wearing of all staff and participants based on local requirements. This program is designed to keep students safe with small “pods” sizes of students who are screened before each class. Please be prepared for all types of weather and hiking conditions, programs run rain or shine.

Please note that Health History and Release forms are required for all participants to attend, once you register successfully you will receive a link to the forms.

September: Welcome to the Sanctuary

  • Theme 1: What is a wildlife sanctuary?
  • Theme 2: What is a scientist?

October: What is a habitat?

  • Theme 1: Dendrology
  • Theme 2: Soil

November: What is an adaptation?

  • Theme 1: Ornithology 101

December: Why do animals move?

  • Theme 1: Hibernation/Migration
  • Theme 2: Animal tracks and signs

January: What is Earth Science?

  • Theme 1: The Rock Cycle
  • Theme 2: Paleontology

February: What are nature's cycles?

  • Theme 1: Water Cycle
  • Theme 2: Carbon Cycle

March: What is a pond?

  • Theme 1: Wetland Metaphors
  • Theme 2: Pond critter exploration
  • Theme 3: Pollution Solutions

April: What is a Life Cycle?

  • Theme 1: Complete vs Incomplete Metamorphosis
  • Theme 2: Flower to Seed

May: What is the scientific method?

  • Theme 1: Physics in Nature (Egg Drop)
  • Theme 2: Chemistry in Nature (Fizzy Science)

Instructions and Directions:

Please note this is a Drop Off program. The Nature Center will not be available for families to wait with siblings.

Registration is required.
For your own security, DO NOT send credit card information via email.

For more information, contact:

1417 Park Street
Attleboro, MA 02703
For your own security, DO NOT send credit card information via email.