Travel with Joppa Flats

Plate-billed Mountain Toucan (Photo: David Larson)
Plate-billed Mountain Toucan (Photo: David Larson)

Joppa Flats offers a variety of local, national, and international travel experiences year-round. Trips range in focus from natural history to birding to photography and more!

You'll benefit from the expert guidance of our trip leaders on every adventure. Tours are led by sanctuary staff—including David Larson (Education Coordinator), David Moon (Sanctuary Director), or Bill Gette (former Sanctuary Director)—as well as other naturalists, some of whom are graduates of our Birder's Certificate Program).

Our travel offerings range from trips that we have been running for 20 years to others that are brand new. In every case, our trips combine good fellowship; great birds and other animals; and expert interpretation. We hope that you will find many destinations that excite your interest!

International trips are conducted in cooperation with Mass Audubon Tours.


Upcoming Tours

New Jersey and New York Warblers: Birding on the Border   May 23, 2019 (Thursday) - May 26, 2019 (Sunday)
Minnesota and North Dakota: Boreal Bog and Prairie Birding   June 7, 2019 (Friday) - June 15, 2019 (Saturday)
Machias Seal Island and Eastern Maine   June 8, 2019 (Saturday) - June 10, 2019 (Monday)
Iceland Birding and Natural History Tour   June 14, 2019 (Friday) - June 22, 2019 (Saturday)
Texas to New Mexico: Bosque del Apache and the Rio Grande Corridor   January 7, 2020 (Tuesday) - January 13, 2020 (Monday)
South Carolina: Birding the Coastal Lowlands   April 22, 2020 (Wednesday) - April 27, 2020 (Monday)